Poetry is a weapon against ugliness of this world: An online interview with Iulia Gherghei

Iulia Gherghei: Lives in Romania

Published books: Postcard with insomnia, Depresii in jurnal

Dupur Mitra: What is poetry?
Iulia Gherghei: Poetry is a feeling, a stream of healing sounds therefore a music and, also, a weapon against ugliness of this world.

Dupur Mitra: What are your observations about trending of world poetry?
Iulia Gherghei: I can’t say that I spotted a general trend, I am not a critic, but the poets read by me on Facebook, my friends, have a gloomy vision over the present and future times. Also, the free verse is very often used and absurd poetry is in trend, due to the absurd world we live nowadays.

Dupur Mitra: What is your opinion about today’s world poetry movement?
Iulia Gherghei: Any exchange of ideas is good, the poetry movement is such an exchange from whom the poetry will benefit for sure! Today’s poetry movement is blossoming, it is effervescent!

Dupur Mitra: Describe the writing process in your poems?
Iulia Gherghei: I have to confess I am an amateur. So, my writing is spontaneous. Often, I stay on the bench in the park, during my daughters play and I “wake up” drawing. writing, humming songs….something to fill up the time till we go back home.

Dupur Mitra: Do geographic travel play a role in your poetic life?
Iulia Gherghei: My poetic life is sensitive to all changes including the succession of seasons, the alternation day-night, a spider crossing my way in his travel to its net. From this perspective my travels, thou rare lately,have a major influence over my poetry.

Dupur Mitra: How would you describe the contemporary poetry?
Iulia Gherghei: If I have to chose one word to describe nowadays poetry, that would be ABUNDANT.

Dupur Mitra: When did you start writing?
Iulia Gherghei: I begun writing around twelve years old for a school contest.

Dupur Mitra: Why do you write poetry?
Iulia Gherghei: I write poetry for its healing benefits. To let go the steam that life presses on my nerves. For writing prose I did not have the life experience gathered yet.

Dupur Mitra: How long does it take you to write a poem?
Iulia Gherghei: I write poems in buses, in my place of work, sitting on a bench, watching a tennis match, doing homework with my daughter… My poems are short, so it doesn’t take long.

Dupur Mitra: Where do your ideas come from?
Iulia Gherghei: Mostly my ideas are coming from the immediate life and I am the main character, my dreams, my pains…

Dupur Mitra: What part does music play in your poetry?
Iulia Gherghei: Music….I work in a radio station. Often I surprise my self, mostly in the night shift when I have time to write, that the rhythm I write the poems it is the rhythm of the music I am listening that very minute….Music is essential for my poetry.

Thank you for the attention you are paying to me, Dupur.

Comments
3 Responses to “Poetry is a weapon against ugliness of this world: An online interview with Iulia Gherghei”
  1. A great interview with a superb poet, whose poetry is sensitive, bold and always thought-provoking!

  2. I’ve always loved your poetry. And you have defined poetry so well here. Great interview!

Leave a Reply

  • কপিলেফ্ট ওয়েব জার্নাল : একটি বিকল্প লিটলম্যাগ Copyleft webjournal : an alternative littlemag

    কপিলেফ্ট। এখানকার যে কোনও লেখা যে কেউ অবাণিজ্যিক ও অলাভজনক উদ্দেশ্যে মূল লেখা ও লেখককে

    অবিকৃত রেখে প্রকাশ ও প্রচার করতে পারবেন।

    Copyleft: Matters in this site is copyleft. Everybody can reprint or republish this without modifying author and writing and without the permission of author and publisher for only noncommercial purposes

