A poetry movement helps people, but it cannot improve anything: An online interview with Thierry Radière


                                            Poet: France, Published works: LE MANÈGE

Dupur Mitra: Who are your major influences as a poet ?

Thierry Radière: The first poet I discovered and liked when I was a child was Rimbaud and then I preferred and still like Verlaine better for he is more many-sided and musical than the former. Emily Dickinson, Bukowski, Brautigan, Lorca, the Dadaïsts and the French Modernists inspire me very much.

Dupur Mitra: What does being a poet mean to you ?

Thierry Radière: It means being someone who can’t help hesitating between the sound and the meaning of words.

Dupur Mitra: What is poetry ?

Thierry Radière: Poetry is a great word for small and sometimes invisible, trivial things poets loves telling. Poetry is what remains when you have talked too much.

Dupur Mitra: What are your observations about the trending of world poetry ?

Thierry Radière: I think more and more people dare to write and read poetry. This is perhaps due to social networking. People are fed up with long political and rhetorical speeches, they need deepness and read or express personal feelings they do not find in other literary forms. Haiku have never been so loved and read by people. Any poet all over the world has at least written a haiku poem in his life. Some of them have already published a collection of haiku poetry. I think people like intensity and shortness. That is why poetry is the favourite literary form of the early twenty-first century.

Dupur Mitra: Can poetry movement improve poetry. If yes how, if nor why ?

Thierry Radière: There I no progress in poetry or in art in general. Writers have been dealing with the same topics for ages. A poetry movement helps people, artists see things differently but it cannot improve anything. Creating is to create within and against one’s own culture, that’s how literary movements appear.

Dupur Mitra: What is your opinion about today’s world poetry movement ?

Thierry Radière: I am only interested in poetry and I have no opinion about today’s world poetry, or perhaps I have already answered this question earlier.

Dupur Mitra: How would you describe contemporary poetry ?

Thierry Radière: In my view there are two schools in poetry : that of every day life and that of the elite considering poetry as a noble art that only a few people can master. But I am not part of them at all. I personally feel closer to the first category of poets.

Dupur Mitra: When did you start writing ?

Thierry Radière: I started writing at school when I was young and it was a real pleasure for me to invent stories and see that my teachers and other pupils like reading my texts and I have never stopped since then. But at that time I did not know I would have kept on writing and writing every day.

Dupur Mitra: Why do you write poetry ?

Thierry Radière: Because it has always been natural to me. When I think I write poetry. When I dream I write poetry. When I make love I write poetry. When I do nothing I write poetry. I cannot live without it. Writing poetry is glandular, I mean secretory. Writing poetry is as being itching.

Leave a Reply

  • কপিলেফ্ট ওয়েব জার্নাল : একটি বিকল্প লিটলম্যাগ Copyleft webjournal : an alternative littlemag

    কপিলেফ্ট। এখানকার যে কোনও লেখা যে কেউ অবাণিজ্যিক ও অলাভজনক উদ্দেশ্যে মূল লেখা ও লেখককে

    অবিকৃত রেখে প্রকাশ ও প্রচার করতে পারবেন।

    Copyleft: Matters in this site is copyleft. Everybody can reprint or republish this without modifying author and writing and without the permission of author and publisher for only noncommercial purposes

