Perspectives make the difference: An online interview with Cathie Buckner

Cathie Buckner: Beatnik Poet

Dupur Mitra: When did you start writing?
Cathie Buckner: I started writing in high school. I was in forensics club with Oprah Winfrey. I had written stories in 9th grade that were like soap drama but poetry is where I found my voice.

Dupur Mitra: Why do you write poetry?
Cathie Buckner: I have always used the voice of poetry to address issues, to show empathy, or to express ideals on life and love.

Dupur Mitra: How long does it take you to write a poem?
Cathie Buckner: This really depends on why I wrote a particular poem…Some may take minutes other I have changed a million times…But the usual time is less than an hour but these are usually written around passionate recourse and I feel I would explode without writing about it.

Dupur Mitra: How do you write your poems?
Cathie Buckner: Some times I write in response to some news stories but often I write in response to other’s pain, or an issue around injustice, or those passions that need to be written.

Dupur Mitra: Where do your ideas come from?
Cathie Buckner: I have original thought.

Dupur Mitra: What part does music play in poetry?
Cathie Buckner: Usually music has little to no influence on on my poetry…I do love music and took music years ago but did not think I had a ‘stand out’ voice. However, I still love all types of music and am in several choirs.

Dupur Mitra: Do you get inspiration from your readers?
Cathie Buckner: Inspiration. I try to give it to other poets by telling them how their words touched me. But most of my inspiration comes from the ‘ordinary extraordinary’ people and their struggles to overcome injustice, pain or adversity. Inspiration can come from anywhere. It is the seed from which passions grow.

Dupur Mitra: What was the first poem you wrote?
Cathie Buckner: It was called ‘White Picket Fences’ and was an observation to the American Dream not meant for everyone.

Dupur Mitra: What’s your favourite poem that you’ve written?
Cathie Buckner: Like my children, I may favor one over the others at different times but try not to. I find favor with great lines rather than great poems. I let others form their own opinions as to favor.

Dupur Mitra: What else do you like doing when you’re not writing poems?
Cathie Buckner: I love community live theater…I am an advocate for poor people and love taking pictures.

Dupur Mitra: What makes your poems different from other people’s?
Cathie Buckner: Perspectives make the difference. I may start here but will lead you there. I am not hard to understand but have a Beatnik style, thus the name Beatnik Poet. I write with reason and even though a reader may not share the care they will at least ‘think’ after meeting me on a page.

Dupur Mitra: What is poetry?
Cathie Buckner: Poetry is the expression of the heart as individual as the person who wrote it or felt by the person who reads it. Poetry should move both writer and reader.

Dupur Mitra: What are your observations about trending of world poetry?
Cathie Buckner: Poetry should change you…Globally it should bring us closer. The world hungers for the simplicity of our likenesses. Words can heal, can expand a mind, can bring us together and should bring about change.

Dupur Mitra: Is poetry movement can improve the poetry? if yes how, if not why?
Cathie Buckner: Social media is doing a lot to bring poets together, especially around issues but poetry is still as individual as it should be and each reader still draws
on his own experience when reading. Affecting change may not be the end all for all who writes. It is the sharing of voice. A real good thing.

Dupur Mitra: What is your opinion about today’s world poetry movement? Pls
Cathie Buckner: It only takes one person to start a revolution. When we hold others words to heart and they hold ours, the seeds planted can grow into unbelievable
understanding and the shade of what can grow will cool us all in hot times,

Leave a Reply

  • কপিলেফ্ট ওয়েব জার্নাল : একটি বিকল্প লিটলম্যাগ Copyleft webjournal : an alternative littlemag

    কপিলেফ্ট। এখানকার যে কোনও লেখা যে কেউ অবাণিজ্যিক ও অলাভজনক উদ্দেশ্যে মূল লেখা ও লেখককে

    অবিকৃত রেখে প্রকাশ ও প্রচার করতে পারবেন।

    Copyleft: Matters in this site is copyleft. Everybody can reprint or republish this without modifying author and writing and without the permission of author and publisher for only noncommercial purposes

