Few may not care for your work, while it may mean the world to others: An online interview with Faydra Underwood

fff

Faydra Underwood is a poet, lyricist, and author that has been writing since early childhood. She is beginning her public venture with “Glimpses of Perception.” It is written mostly from a woman and mother’s perspective, but has things in it that should be appealing to most readers, as she writes from the heart about the world she lives in and the things that she sees~both personally and as an onlooker. She is currently recording a spoken word poetry CD.

Dupur Mitra: Do you think poetry play role in your society? If yes how and if not why?

Faydra Underwood: I think poetry does play a part in my society. I dream that one day it will be important in all societies.The written word doesn’t thrive as much as I wish that it did, because I don’t think many people take the time to sit down, and relax enough to enjoy a good book or for that matter, even a couple pages from a poetry book. Although, technology has aided lately with the e-readers, I still think there are too many distractions in the world~on the other hand I could be wrong, and I hope people read it to escape, even if just for a few minutes. It is heard through spoken word and music. I do think that poetry influences society, because you can find poetry in everything from songs to advertisements. It is all in the perception of the person as to what they consider poetic.

Dupur Mitra: Who are your major influences as a poet?

Faydra Underwood: I am influenced by everything I that I come in contact with. I have a hard time putting a label on my influences, as I find my environment my most dominant influence. I”m influenced by the way the sun shines through the clouds sometimes. I’m influenced by a mother in front of me at the store who has children with her; but she has to put things back because she can’t afford to buy them. I’m influenced by the way my daughter smiles, and the way it feels when my son hugs me. I’m influenced by educators that go the extra mile to help a child in need of their guidance. I’m influenced by the world leaders who seemingly often forget what their purpose even being in a position like that is. I think it’s safe for me to say that I’m influenced.

Dupur Mitra: What is poetry?

Faydra Underwood: Poetry, to me, is a group of words that convey feelings and illustrate thoughts. It is an outlet for creativity to evoke feelings of all kinds from the readers, and also for the creator of the poetry.

Dupur Mitra: What are your observations about trending of world poetry?

Faydra Underwood: The trending world of poetry excites me! I love to read the words of famous and infamous alike. Creativity, imagination, and talent being shared makes me very happy!

Dupur Mitra: Is poetry movement can improve the poetry? if yes how, if not why?What is your opinion about today’s world poetry movement?

Faydra Underwood: I’m unsure if the poetry movement is improving poetry as a whole, but there will be some famous poets from our era because of the effort that people are putting forth.

Dupur Mitra: Do you get inspiration from your readers?

Faydra Underwood: I do get inspiration from my readers. I love to get e-mails and messages telling me that my words helped them with a problem, or made them feel better about something they were going through at the time.

Dupur Mitra: What was the first poem you wrote?

Faydra Underwood: The first poem I can remember writing was when I was 7 years old. It was about rain. My teacher entered it in our county fair, and I won first place! My mother still has the poem, and my blue ribbon!

Dupur Mitra: What’s your favourite poem that you’ve written? Do you illustrate your own poems?

Faydra Underwood: It is tough to choose between your own poems, but I will have to say that “Thirteen Crimsons”, “A Perfect Heart”, and “Black Holiday” are among my favorites. I don’t do illustrations, but I often select a photograph that is suitable for the topic.

Dupur Mitra: Where do your ideas come from?

Faydra Underwood: My ideas come from everywhere…there again, I am easily inspired!

Dupur Mitra: What advice was most helpful to you when you first started writing poetry?

Faydra Underwood: The most important advice that I received when I decided to publish was to not be in fear of disapproval. Understand that few may not care for your work, while it may mean the world to others. You must take a chance to find out!

Leave a Reply

  • কপিলেফ্ট ওয়েব জার্নাল : একটি বিকল্প লিটলম্যাগ Copyleft webjournal : an alternative littlemag

    কপিলেফ্ট। এখানকার যে কোনও লেখা যে কেউ অবাণিজ্যিক ও অলাভজনক উদ্দেশ্যে মূল লেখা ও লেখককে

    অবিকৃত রেখে প্রকাশ ও প্রচার করতে পারবেন।

    Copyleft: Matters in this site is copyleft. Everybody can reprint or republish this without modifying author and writing and without the permission of author and publisher for only noncommercial purposes

