I do write my novels according to a pre-planned outline: An online interview with Jacob Lassiter

j

Jacob Lassiter was born and raised in the deep South during the turbulent segregation and civil rights era of the 1950’s and 1960’s. During his life he has had the unique opportunity to witness some of the most socially volatile and politically unstable situations on four continents. From post-communistic Russia and Ukraine, deep in the Amazon basin, to the AIDS ravaged country of Uganda in East Africa, and on to the rugged southern terai of Nepal where leprosy is pandemic, Lassiter has witnessed human suffering, poverty, social injustice and want on a scale unimaginable to most.

By The Blood Of The Crescent Moon is his first published work and the inaugural volume of The John Landreith Series. He is currently at work writing the Crescent Moon sequel that is scheduled for publication in early 2013.

Published books: Iron Cross/Southern Cross, The killing field, The Ethan aronov series.

author’s website: http://www.jacoblassiter.com.

 

Dupur Mitra: What are you working on now?

Jacob Lassiter : Right now I am working on a series that has to do with the Holocaust that took place in the 1930’s.

Dupur Mitra: What inspired you to become a writer?

Jacob Lassiter : I have always had an Interest in that aspect of World War II. I always wanted to be s writer–even as a child.

Dupur Mitra: Could you explain your own particular writing process, including schedule, rituals and methods?

Jacob Lassiter : I write fiction and create the story line as I write. My particular style involves me formulating the end of the novel first and then working from the start to the finish. I take great care to create an ending that comes as a complete surprise to the reader.

I always write in the morning and the amount of time I spend working varies each day. I always begin the morning with a read-through of what I wrote the previous day.

Dupur Mitra: What inspires and influences your writing the most?

Jacob Lassiter : What inspires me most are good novels with intriguing story-lines that are well written.

Dupur Mitra: Do you write your stories according to a pre-organized plotline?

Jacob Lassiter : I do write my novels according to a pre-planned outline. I research very carefully and go to great lengths to give my characters a realistic personality.

Dupur Mitra: What was the best piece of advice you’ve received with respect to the art of writing?

.Jacob Lassiter : The best piece of advice I was given was to truly commit to being a writer–to tell people I was a writer. If you don’t believe in yourself you really can’t expect anyone else to believe in you. Tell people you are a writer and then get to work. Your own particular style will quickly evolve.

Dupur Mitra: What’s your favorite novel?

Jacob Lassiter : My favorite novel is “The Unlikely Spy” by Daniiel Silva.

Dupur Mitra: Your favorite book of criticism or nonfiction? Can you talk about your new novel? Which type of fiction you like more and why?

Jacob Lassiter : I’m really sorry, but I never discuss a novel I’m working on until it is finished. There are too many people ready to steal ideas, so it’s better to keep your work secret until you are copyrighted and published. My favorite genre is historical-fiction.

Dupur Mitra: What advice would you give beginning writers?

Jacob Lassiter : My advice for a writer starting out is simply to get started and don’t let the fear of criticism keep you from writing. Just get started and keep at it until you are finished. Work every day and keep your dream of being a writer foremost in your mind. Your brain will constantly be at work even when your hands are idle.

Trust me–write everything down. I hope you will keep me advised of your progress. I wish you the best of success!

Leave a Reply

  • কপিলেফ্ট ওয়েব জার্নাল : একটি বিকল্প লিটলম্যাগ Copyleft webjournal : an alternative littlemag

    কপিলেফ্ট। এখানকার যে কোনও লেখা যে কেউ অবাণিজ্যিক ও অলাভজনক উদ্দেশ্যে মূল লেখা ও লেখককে

    অবিকৃত রেখে প্রকাশ ও প্রচার করতে পারবেন।

    Copyleft: Matters in this site is copyleft. Everybody can reprint or republish this without modifying author and writing and without the permission of author and publisher for only noncommercial purposes

